The College Try

I’m not sure if this will be any better than a weekly e-mail.  Maybe people will feel inclined to talk on posts?  Maybe not.  In any event, we’ll try it out.  On the right-hand side you should see the next five readings.  I’m not sure what else we can or could do with this, but maybe people will get ideas.

Last week was a lovely time had by all I believe.  This week we’re continuing the Philosophical Investigations.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The College Try

  1. abcdefg says:

    well looky here

    • abcdefg says:

      i kant believe it

      • Jess says:

        “One day in the late mid-eighties, I was in my early late-twenties. I had just been dismissed from University after delivering a brilliant lecture on the aggressive influence of German philosophy on rock ‘n’ roll entitled ‘You Kant Always Get What You Want.’ At 26, my academic career was over, I had never kissed a boy, and I was still sleeping with mom. Such were the thoughts flooding my tiny head on the day that I was sunning myself… in an old bomb crater I had discovered near the Wall. I am naked. Face down, on a broken piece of church, inhaling a fragrant westerly breeze.”
        — Hedwig

  2. Jess says:

    I spent Saturday in the soothing waters of sexology research. I went into a JStor equivalent of a Wikihole, and found an article titled, “Wittgenstein and Homosexuality” (Salmagundi, No. 58/59, Fall 1982-Winter 1983). (Aside: the article is as old as I am, how delightful.)

    Anyway, the article starts with the following epigraphs:
    “A man can bare himself before others only out of a particular kind of love. A love that acknowledges, as it were, that we are all wicked children…

    “Hate between men comes from our cutting ourselves off from each other. Because we don’t want anyone else to look inside us, since it’s not a pretty sight in there.”
    (From Culture and Value.)

    “If you think I’m an old spinster—think again!”
    (From Norman Malcolm’s Ludwig Wittgenstein: a Memoir.)

    In other news, that fingerpuppet is pleasurably terrifying when tiled in the background. I feel extremely sublime when faced with its grandeur.

Leave a Reply

